Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Fuel based OPNFV installer project proposal

Project proposal meta-data

  • Proposed name for the project: Fuel@OPNFV
  • Proposed name for the repository: fuel
  • Project Category: Integration and testing

Project description:

This OPNFV initiative proposes to take the fuel@opnfv work that was done embedded into the Arno BGS project to an autonomous long lived OPNFV project with the aim to follow- and absorb OPNFV release train features into the Fuel@OPNFV installer and at the same time absorb new fuel capabilities, as well as put relevant OPNFV requirements on Fuel.

Scope

The scope of the proposal includes the following:

  • Absorbing all of OPNFV's release cadence features through the genesis project.
  • Ensuring a healthy Fuel@OPNFV architecture/structure by feeding requirements to the fuel community.
  • Ensuring a healthy Fuel@OPNFV architecture/structure by staying close to the fuel community trunk, using the fuel plug-in architecture for needed differentiation.
  • Providing needed capabilities for the OPNFV CI pipeline, including:
    • Build
    • Deployment
    • Needed hooks for low-level verification (tempest)
    • Needed hooks for high-level verification (Scenario testing) - Yardstick

Building blocks

  • CentOS Host
  • Ubuntu Host
  • OpenStack
  • OpenDaylight
  • OVS

Committers and Contributors

Name and affiliation of the project leader:

Jonas Bjurel (Ericsson AB): jonas.bjurel@ericsson.com

Names and affiliations of the committers:

  • Jonas Bjurel (Ericsson): jonas.bjurel@ericsson.com
  • Stefan Berg (Ericsson): stefan.k.berg@ericsson.com
  • Daniel Smith (Ericsson): daniel.smith@ericsson.com
  • Szilard Cserey (Ericsson): szilard.cserey@ericsson.com
  • Michal Skalski (Mirantis): mskalski@mirantis.com
  • Ruijing Guo (Intel): ruijing.guo@intel.com

Names and affiliations of the contributors:

  • Fatih Degirmenci (Ericsson): fatih.degirmenci@ericsson.com
  • Jose Lausuch (Ericsson): jose.lausuch@ericsson.com
  • Juan Osorio Robles (Ericsson): juan.osorio.robles@ericsson.com
  • Szymon Banka (Mirantis): sbanka@mirantis.com
  • Tadi Bhargava (Tata): tadi.bhargava@tcs.com
  • Tuan Luong (Ericsson): tuan.luong@ericsson.com

Planned deliverables

  • Fuel@OPNFV Installer based on Fuel technology and release cadence.
  • Fuel@OPNFV unique Fuel plug-ins
  • Fuel@OPNFV Documentation
  • Fuel@OPNFV CI plugins for OPNFV
  • Fuel@OPNFV plugins for OPNFV VIM characteristics/SLA certification, interoperability certification, etc.

Proposed Release Schedule

Initial release of OPNFV@Fuel was as part of the joint OPNFV Bootstrap/Get started (BGS) Arno release.

First OPNFV autonomous release will be OPNFV R2 release with the following tentative release content:

  • OpenStack release: Kilo/Liberty (Features to be supported TBD)
  • Fuel release: 7.0.x/8.0.x (Features to be supported TBD)
  • OpenDaylight release: Lithium (Features to be supported TBD)
  • OPNFV carried R2 patches
  • OPNFV R2 experimental projects

Upstream projects

Fuel@OPNFV is relying on following upstream projects:

  • Fuel - Any needed requirements will be articulated by Fuel@OPNFV and implemented by the Fuel community, Fuel@OPNFV will source upstream OpenStack through Fuel. OpenStack requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV
  • Open Daylight - Requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV
  • KVM - Requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV
  • OVS - OVS requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV
  • Ubuntu - Debian/Ubuntu requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV
  • CentOS - Debian/Ubuntu requirements will origin from other OPNFV projects than Fuel@OPNFV

Project culture

  • A small yet very competent end2end team
  • Tightly working with other installer projects, genesis, CI and functest teams - contributing and reviewing across boarders
  • Using IRC as main communication medium, blended by a few bi-weekly audio calls.
  • No labels