Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

IPv6-enabled OPNFV Project

Welcome to IPv6-enabled OPNFV Project page.

Introduction

This IPv6-enabled OPNFV project is targeted to produce a meta distribution of IPv6-enabled OPNFV platform. This meta distribution intends to be an easy installable package with de-facto provisioning and configuration of IPv6 and dual-stack support, upon which test harness, additional components and functional blocks and/or tools that need IPv6 functionality can be built and integrated.

In addition, this project intends to analyze the gaps between additional IPv6 features needed by various use cases of industry and the existing IPv6 support in meta distribution, and to propose the ways moving forward to fill in the gaps.

The deliverables of this project include:

  • An integrated package consisting of basic components from upstreams: OpenStack Juno, ODL Helium, KVM etc.
  • Auto configuration script to automate the configuration and provisioning of IPv6 features (for those that can be automated)
  • An Installation Guide and/or User Guide with step-by-step instructions of manual configuration of IPv6 features for those that cannot be automated
  • Test cases adapted to IPv6 specific use cases
  • Gap analysis and Recommendation for next steps

The lifecycle of the project is intended to maintain IPv6 capabilities of OPNFV during its entire life. The above deliverables may be achieved through various phases. The Phase 1 deliverables will be based on OpenStack Juno Release and Open Daylight Helium Release.

Key Project Facts

Project: IPv6-enabled OPNFV Project (ipv6)
Project Creation Date: November 25, 2014
Project Category: Integration & Testing
Lifecycle State: Incubation
Primary Contact: Bin Hu
Project Lead: Bin Hu
Gerrit Repository: ipv6
Jira Project Name: IPv6-enabled OPNFV Project
Jira Project Prefix: IPVSIX
Mailing list tag: [ipv6]
IRC: Server:freenode.net Channel:#opnfv-ipv6
Etherpad: http://etherpad.opnfv.org/p/ipv6

Committers:
Bin Hu (AT&T), <bh526r@att.com>
Tom Nadeau (Brocade), <tnadeau@brocade.com>
Peter Lee (ClearPath), <plee@clearpathnet.com>
Mark Medina (ClearPath), <mmedina@clearpathnet.com>
Jonne Soininen (Nokia), <jonne.soininen@nsn.com>
Prakash Ramchandran (Huawei), <prakash.ramchandran@huawei.com>
Sridhar Gaddam (RedHat), <sgaddam@redhat.com> or <sridhar.gaddam@redhat.com>

Contributors:

  • Karthik Natarajan (Brocade, natarajk@brocade.com)
  • Sean M. Collins (Mirantis)
  • Pranav Bhalerao (Cisco, pranav.bhalerao@gmail.com)
  • Iben Rodriguez (Iben.Rodriguez@vmsec.com)
  • Meenakshi Kaushik (mekaushi@cisco.com)

Explore IPv6

IPv6 Upstream Contributions

Communication Channels

Maintainers

  • Names and affiliation of the maintainers:
    • Bin Hu (AT&T)
    • Tom Nadeau (Brocade)
    • Peter Lee (ClearPath)

Danube Release Documentation

Colorado Release Documentation

Brahmaputra Release Documentation

Setting Up Service VM as IPv6 vRouter Documentation

Gap Analysis Documentation

Other Resources

  • No labels