Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Project: JOID

High level overview: project description, diagrams, etc.(a few paragraphs)

Project description:

Introduce MAAS and Juju to support flexible OPNFV platform deployment.

Metal as a Service

Metal as a Service (MAAS) brings the language of the cloud to physical servers. It makes it easy to set up the hardware on which to deploy any service that needs to scale up and down dynamically; a cloud being just one example.

With a simple web interface, you can add, commission, update, decommission and recycle your servers at will. As your needs change, you can respond rapidly, by adding new nodes and dynamically re-deploying them between services. When the time comes, nodes can be retired for use outside the MAAS.

MAAS works closely with the service orchestration tool Juju to make deploying services fast, reliable, repeatable and scalable. more: https://maas.ubuntu.com/

Note: We are going to utilize MAAS as a part of POD jump-start server so that OS deployment can be handled by MAAS and support Ubuntu, Centos, Windows or customized images (supported by MAAS process).

Currently MAAS supports all Major OEM (HP, Dell, Intel, Cisco, Sea-micro etc.. ) hardware which includes the power management of those hardware through IPMI as well as other power management software.

What is Juju?

Juju is a state-of-the-art, open source, service orchestration tool. Juju allows you to configure, manage, maintain, deploy, and scale cloud services quickly and efficiently on public clouds, as well as on physical servers, OpenStack, and containers. You can use Juju from the command line or through its beautiful GUI.

Under the OPNVF BGS initiative, we plan to use Juju and MAAS to provide end-to-end solution to find baremetal resources, to provision a customer selected OS, to deploy a particular version of OpenStack and ODL release.

OpenStack with ODL:

OpenStack with OpenContrail:

JOID Video - Deploying OPNFV with the Juju command line (https://www.youtube.com/v/Yx93BYrSeHY)
 

www.youtube.com

OpenStack Juju bundle info and source code: https://jujucharms.com/u/openstack-charmers/openstack/25

Main benefits of OPNFV deployment using MAAS and Juju:

Juju experiment under BGS, documentation: https://wiki.opnfv.org/get_started_juju_deploy

  • Automation scripts to achieve items above.

Juju and MAAS Training materials

Juju

Other interesting links:

MAAS

Key Project Facts

Committers:

  • Narinder Gupta - narinder.gupta@canonical.com
  • Prakash Ramchandran - prakash.ramchandran@huawei.com
  • Artur Tyloch - tyloch (GitHub)
  • Iben Rodriguez iben.rodriguez@vmsec.com
  • David Blaisonneau - david.blaisonneau@orange.com

Contributors:

  • David Karr - AT&T, dk068x@att.com
  • Martin Taylor - martin.taylor@metaswitch.com
  • Parviz Yegani - pyegani@juniper.net
  • Jonas Bjurel - jonas.bjurel@ericsson.com
  • Joe Crispo - joe.crispo@canonical.com
  • David Duffey - Canonical
  • Tim Fall timfallmk (GitHub)

Link to TSC approval of the project: http://meetbot.opnfv.org/meetings/opnfv-meeting/2015/opnfv-meeting.2015-05-26-13.58.html

Link(s) to approval of additional committers:

  • Meetings: project meeting info (e.g. date/time, dial-in info, link to meeting page, etc.)
  • No labels