Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Project: Model Oriented Virtualization Interface (Movie)

Introduction

While OpenStack is a competitive candidate for VIM, existing interfaces provided by OpenStack include three major parts: compute, storage, and network. The IaaS service oriented NBI leaves a lot of detailed work for the upper layer applications (e.g. orchestrator).

The proposed project is to provide a more abstract VIM NBI alternative by extending the general cloud platform to simplify the orchestrator and VNF manager, and make it easy for resource access, connection generation, flow identification, policy operation, etc. This higher level abstraction gives the upper layer applications another option in addition to the combination of openstack existing interfaces and extentions developed by other OPNFV projects.

The service oriented NBI extension encapsulate higher order operations appropriately in the NFV problem domain. It will build upon existing projects, like promise, copper, VNFFG, and so on, and their APIs to implement the NBI and find gaps when the NBI cannot be implemented by existing projects.

To achieve the NBI consistency, we can use the Model Driven Architecture (MDA) approach and define system functionality using platform-independent models. Interfaces can be generated automatically with well defined models.

Presentations

Presentation on Openstack Summit Vancuver

hares-opnfv-movie-usecases.pdf

Congress blueprint on policy abstraction by Yali

opnfv-movie-meeting150805-scope_and_model.pdf

Key Project Facts

Project: Model Oriented Virtualization Interface (movie) 
Project Creation Date: April 7, 2015 
Project Category: Requirements 
Lifecycle State: Incubation 
Primary Contact: Tianran Zhou (Huawei, zhoutianran@huawei.com)
Project Lead: Tianran Zhou 
Jira Project Name: Model Oriented Virtualization Interface 
Jira Project Prefix: movie

Committers:

    Tianran Zhou (zhoutianran@huawei.com)
    Yinben Xia (xiayinben@huawei.com)
    Wei Cao (wayne.caowei@huawei.com)
    Lei Zhu (lei.zhu@huawei.com)
    Zhipeng Huang (huangzhipeng@huawei.com)
    Linghui Zeng (linghui.zeng@huawei.com)
    Qiao Fu (fuqiao@chinamobile.com)
    Susan Hares (shares@ndzh.com)
    Zhiying Wang (wang.zhiying1@zte.com.cn)
    Gerald Kunzmann (kunzmann@docomolab-euro.com) 
    Peter Lee (plee@clearpathnet.com)
    David Lenrow (david.lenrow@hp.com)
    Prakash Ramchandran (Prakash.Ramchandran@huawei.com)


Link to TSC approval of the project: Minutes of TSC meeting on April 7, 2015
Link(s) to approval of additional committers:

Contributors:

    Julien Zhang (zhang.jun3g@zte.com.cn)
    Rajeev Seth (rseth@sonusnet.com)
    Guofeng Shao (shaoguofeng@huawei.com)
    Parviz Yegani (pyegani@juniper.net)  
    Ulas Kozat (Ulas.Kozat@huawei.com)


Meetings: Wednesday 0300-0400 UTC Your Local Time meeting information 
IRC : #opnfv-meeting @ Freenode (Web Chat
Mailing List: use opnfv-tech-discuss and tag your emails with [movie] in the subject
Trello: TBD
Repositorymovie

Space contributors

{"mode":"list","scope":"descendants","limit":"5","showLastTime":"true","order":"update","contextEntityId":5046490}

 

  • No labels