Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Project: Continuous Integration (Octopus)

Introduction

Problem Statement:

OPNFV will use many upstream open source projects to create the reference platform. All these projects are developed and tested independently and in many cases, not have use cases of other projects in mind. Therefore it is to be expected that integration of these projects probably will unveil some gaps in functionality, since testing the OPNFV use cases needs the interworking of many upstream projects. Thus this integration work will bring major benefit to the community.

Therefore the goal of the CI project – Octopus – is to quickly provide prototype integration of a first set of upstream projects. Step by step this later will be evolved to a full blown development environment with automated test and verification as a continuous integration environment, supporting both, the parallel evolutionary work in the upstream projects, and the improvement of NFV support in this reference platform.

Summary

The CI project provides the starting point for all OPNFV development activities. It starts by integrating stable versions of basic upstream projects, and from there creates a full development environment for OPNFV including automatic builds and basic verification. This is a very complex task and therefore needs a step by step approach. At the same time it is urgent to have a basic environment in place very soon.

  • Create a hierarchical build environment for the same integrated upstream projects as “getstarted”, that uses the build tools as defined by each of the upstream projects and combines them. This allows development and verification in OPNFV collaborative projects.
  • Implement automatic build process on central servers - Provide automation and periodic builds
  • Execute the continuous automated builds and basic verification

Octopus Documentation

Creating/Configuring/Verifying Jenkins Jobs (PDF)

How to connect jenkins slaves (PDF)

How to use artifact repository (PDF)

CI Pipelines (PDF)

Additional Information/Links

Related Projects

Octopus is part of the INFRA working group, together with Releng and Pharos.  See more information at https://wiki.opnfv.org/display/INF.

  • Getstarted assembles and tests a base set of infrastructure components for OPNFV to run a few example VNFs by integrating binaries of the stable versions of the used components (targeted on Arno Relase
  • Octopus works together with installer projects and Genesis and with the  test and verification projects to setup the CI pipeline..

Meetings

Octopus meetings have joined the INFRA meetings Weekly on Wednesday at 15:00 UTC (8am PST), see more at Infra Working Group

Urgent topics can be solven directly on IRC,  #opnfv-octopus @ Freenode.

See info on previous octopus meetings here:

Key Project Facts

Project: Continuous Integration (Octopus)
Project Creation Date: December 9, 2014
Project Category: Integration&Testing
Lifecycle State: Incubation
Primary Contact: ulrich.kleber@huawei.com
Project Lead: ulrich.kleber@huawei.com (temporary)
Jira Project Name: Continuous Integration Project
Jira Project Prefix: OCTO
Mailing list tag [octopus]
IRC: Server:freenode.net Channel:#opnfv-octopus
Repository: octopus

Committers:
dradez@redhat.com
jiang.zhifeng@zte.com.cn
stefan.k.berg@ericsson.com
cm-r@hp.com
sudhak@hpe.com
ulrich.kleber@huawei.com
fatih.degirmenci@ericsson.com
Iben.Rodriguez@spirent.com
xyzjerry@gmail.com:

Link to TSC approval of the project: http://meetbot.opnfv.org/meetings/opnfv-meeting/
Link(s) to approval of additional submitters:

ulrich.kleber@huawei.com: 
https://wiki.opnfv.org/wiki/tsc#tsc_meeting_february_10_2015 + email vote

fatih.degirmenci@ericsson.com, Iben.Rodriguez@spirent.com, zhaoxinyu@huawei.com:
http://ircbot.wl.linuxfoundation.org/meetings/opnfv-meeting/2015/opnfv-meeting.2015-03-30-14.00.html 

Huqiqi, Zhangyu and Weshayutin stepped down as committers

pals@cisco.com removed from committer list by TSC decisions, see 
https://wiki.opnfv.org/wiki/tsc#october_20_2015
Email address for sudhak@hpe.com updated

Contributors:

  • Alan Pevec (apevec@redhat.com)
  • Bin Hu (bh526r@att.com)
  • Carlos Goncalves (carlos.goncalves@neclab.eu)
  • Chengappa M R (cm-r@hp.com)
  • Chris Price (christopher.price@ericsson.com)
  • Chris Wright (chrisw@redhat.com)
  • Daniel Radez (dradez@redhat.com)
  • Dave Lenrow (david.lenrow@hp.com)
  • Dave Neary (dneary@redhat.com)
  • Dirk Kutscher (dirk.kutscher@neclab.eu)
  • Dongren Zhao (zhaodongren@huawei.com )
  • Fatih Degirmenci (fatih.degirmenci@ericsson.com )
  • Frank Brockners (fbrockne@cisco.com)
  • Ian Wells (iawells@cisco.com)
  • Jari Korpela (jari.korpela@nsn.com)
  • Jia He (hejia1@huawei.com)
  • Jiang Zhifeng(jiang.zhifeng@zte.com.cn)
  • Jonas Bjurel (jonas.bjurel@ericsson.com)
  • Jun Li (matthew.lijun@huawei.com)
  • Jun Zhang (zhang.jun3g@zte.com.cn)
  • Mario Cho (hephaex@gmail.com)
  • Marika Rytkonen (marika.rytkonen@nsn.com)
  • Markus Berglund (markus.berglund@nsn.com)
  • Mei Mei (meimei@huawei.com)
  • Ashlee Young (ashlee@onosfw.com)
  • Narinder Gupta (narinder.gupta@canonical.com)
  • Olivier Jacques (olivier.jacques@hp.com)
  • Palani Chinnakannan (pals@cisco.com)
  • Paul Quinn (paulq@cisco.com)
  • Prakash Ramchandran (prakash.ramchandran@huawei.com)
  • Qiqi Hu (huqiqi@huawei.com)
  • Reinaldo Penno (rapenno@gmail.com)
  • Sajeev Manikkoth (sajeevmanikkoth@gmail.com)
  • Stefan Berg (stefan.k.berg@ericsson.com)
  • Sudha Kumari (sudha.kumari@hp.com)
  • Tadi Bhargava (tadi.bhargava@tcs.com)
  • Ulrich Kleber (ulrich.kleber@huawei.com)
  • Vasile Radoaca (radoaca.vasile@huawei.com)
  • Wes Hayutin (whayutin@redhat.com)
  • Xinyu Zhao (zhaoxinyu@huawei.com)
  • Xiong Zhang (zhangxiong7@huawei.com )
  • Yu Zhang (zhangyu11@huawei.com )
  • Zhifeng Jiang (jiang.zhifeng@zte.com.cn)
  • Vagish Shanmukh (vagish.shanmukh@huawei.com)


IRC:
Mailing list: opnfv-tech-discuss@lists.opnfv.org; use topic filter: [Octopus] 
Repository: octopus

Technical Informations

Project Proposal

Some more details can also be found in the old version of the project proposal.

  • No labels